2 simple and delicious salads


This morning I opened my eyes and was greeted with a beautiful day. The chubby robins that live in the trees out front were chirping and the sky was big and blue and punctuated with cotton ball clouds. This is the time of year to add a bit of flash and color to your food. The skies are low-hanging and weepy. The days are short, getting shorter.

It’s time for a super-salad! A salad is one of my favorite meals; light, crunchy, sweet and tangy flavors exploding in your mouth, and always easy on the digestion.

 Sometimes I open the refrigerator,and I end up with something off-beat and special. No special trip to the store, and no over-thinking ingredient or flavor combinations. I like putting ingredients together in ways I’ve never tried before, and sometimes having limited choices is exactly the nudge I need in that direction. I think that’s what happened here.

1. For this simple salad I used fresh lettuce, tomatoes, creamy cheese, red pepper and a little lemon juice.

Picture 1363

Picture 1362

2. For the second salad I wanted to make something with crunch, structure, something fresh, with a nice protein component – enough to make a meal of. It’s the sort of salad that works this time of year, and you likely have the ingredients needed sprinkled about your kitchen – on counter tops, or in the crisper. It’s hearty and substantial, colorful and crunchy.

As we are a big and hungry family, I made it with my sister into a generous amount. We used:

  • two bunches of lettuce

 Picture 1393

  • tunny

Picture 1388

Picture 1389

  • boiled corn

Picture 1391

  • pressed cheese and black olives

Picture 1400

All these are mixed and seasoned with some spices.

Picture 1402

So here we are. It’s a simple lunch idea blossomed into something unexpected and wonderful – electric colors, punchy dressing, everything super fresh and filling. Served family-style as part of a larger spread, it’d be perfect. As it turns out, it’s also a great lunch for a trip.

Salads are a refreshing accompaniment to any meal. I love my salads colorful with lots of texture.

I hope you all had a nice weekend – I have to say, it’s days like today that I really love where I live. It’s pretty great.