Vanilla cake with blackberry syrup


Picture 1373

I find a lot of fun in cooking, especially in making sweets. I love making (and eating!) cakes. I’ve always loved them and the reason for this is not just because they taste great (although they do). It’s because I love seeing that greedy look that comes into people’s eyes when they spy a luscious cake. They’re unique and made just for that one special day and sometimes, when I look back at old photos of cake, I recall what happened that day and get a sense of nostalgia. It’s like keeping a special memory in the form of dessert! I have to recognise that cakes will always have a special place in my heart (and in my stomach!).

Today I tested a new cake recipe with vanilla cream and blueberry syrup and it was great! You have to try this dessert! It’s really easy and quick to do, and very tasty too!

Dough:

Picture 1366

150 g soft butter (room temperature)
150 g sugar
1 sachet vanilla sugar (10 g)
1 pinch salt
3 eggs
150 g flour
3 tablespoons milk
– 2 teaspoons baking powder

Cream:

2 sachets crème ole

800ml cold milk
  + blackberry syrup

Picture 1369

Method:

         Beat the butter with the sugar, salt, vanilla sugar, until you obtain a creamy composition.

         Add the eggs one by one, stirring well after each.

         Flour and baking powder are sifted and add along with the milk (alternating) in the dough.

         Coat a form; pour the dough and smoothes.

         Bake at moderate heat for 15-20 minutes.

         Then remove from the oven and leave to cool.

         Slice it and garnish with  syrup.

Picture 1372

Picture 1375