Blackberry jam & syrup


Picture 1199

Ever since I was a little girl, our family has enjoyed homemade Blackberry Jam. Making this again after many years conjured up wonderful memories.

I like jam on toast with butter with a cup of warm tea in chilly mornings or milk in sunny afternoons. When I finally spread it on my bun with sesame, was divine!  It tasted like blackberries.  Bright, fresh, summary, and just sweet enough.

Picture 1218

 And the syrup! oh… it’s so good I had to stop myself from eating it by the spoonful after it was made. Lucky for me, I canned a pint of it, so sometime in mid february when I would kill for a berry, I can pretend it’s summer again while i have blackberry syrup over my pancakes.

<!–[if gte mso 9]>–>

Ingredients:

  • 4 kg blackberries
  • 3 kg sugar
  • lemon(optional)

Picture 1215

Picture 1222

Directions

  1. Prepare jars and lids
  2. Lightly rinse the berries and put into a large pot. Add the sugar and bring to a boil.  Reduce to medium low and keep it bubbling lightly until the liquid cooks down to the thickness you want.  I cooked mine for 2 hours, stirring occasionally.
  3. Once fruit is very soft, run through a food mill or press through a fine sieve, using a large spoon or spatula for syrup.
  4. Put in jars the remaining solid composition.
  5. Store in a cool, dark place.

I obtained 500 ml syrup and 10 jars with jam by different dimensions.

Picture 1223